Skip to content

Taking the Plunge

November 15, 2009

As a young child, I looked forward to the last day of my swimming lessons each year with a mixture of dread and fascination. Our community pool had a high-diving board, approximately 10 meters. Today it is rare to find a board so high at the local swimming pool, but liability issues weren’t such a consideration back then. The final day of lessons brought the opportunity for each child to jump from the high dive. I relished the prospect, in spite of my fears. On the last day of the session, I would carefully climb the ladder and inch toward the end of the board. Looking down 30 feet into the crystal water usually sent my heart into palpitations – but the lifeguards had a rule – if you decided to climb the ladder, the only way down was by jumping. I didn’t understand how patient the instructors were, treading water in the deep end and coaxing me to jump, until I became a lifeguard as a teenager and joined the annual ritual from their perspective.

And so, I’ve been taking my author lessons for awhile now, writing, selling manuscripts, and watching my first novel become a real, live book out there in the world.  But blogging has been my high dive. I’ve inched closer and closer by guest blogging with my author groups, commenting here and there on other blogs, and generally coaxing myself toward the precipice. I’ve been standing here for awhile, toes curled around the edge of the board, and it’s about time I close my eyes and jump.

Here I go – wheee!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2009 11:38 am

    When we were kids we’d go to the old swimming hole at granddad’s farm. We didn’t know you couldn’t swim so we just jumped in. Later we learned we were supposed to be scared. I’m glad we didn’t know it at the time ’cause we sure had a lot of fun.

    Dr. Tom Bibey

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  2. November 16, 2009 12:18 pm

    Welcome to the world of blogging. Glad you found the courage to jump.

  3. November 16, 2009 12:36 pm

    Hey Donna:

    Welcome to the wordpress world of blogging. It’s a great site. Loved your first post and can’t wait to read more.
    Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

