Skip to content

48 Hour Update: 2 books (and 10 hours) down

June 4, 2010

Wow! I’m relishing this concept of uninterrupted reading time!

On the clock:  10.5 hours (including one of general blogernizing)

By the page:  769
I just finished an ARC of Tony DiTerilizzi’s The Search for Wondla. I was amazed at his worldbuilding in this post-apocalyptic novel  – including some very accurate descriptions of creations taken from zoology. Not since my aquatic invertebrates class in college have I heard anyone mention a waterbear. Mr. DiTerilizzi is either a fabulous researcher or has a decent background in the life sciences. The book includes an interactive element that requires using a webcam with some of his exquisite artwork. DH has taken our laptop with the webcam for the weekend, so I must wait to see how that element works. I’m sure it will generate a great deal of interest in the book.

Summary:  Eva Nine, raised in isolation by her robotic Muthr, is anxious to escape the confines of her protected world and find other humans. She gets her wish sooner than she anticipates as her Sanctuary is destroyed by a hunter searching for trophies to bring to his queen.  Thrown into a world Muthr could not possibly prepare her for, Eva uses her ingenuity, curiosity, and bravery in her search for the elusive Wondla.

Genre: Science Fiction/Fantasy

Audience: Midgrade and up

I definitely enjoyed this book.  At almost 470 pages, it might intimidate reluctant readers, but is is very readable and so full of action that I can see it becoming a favorite for folks like my son, who devours one fantasy after another, constantly searching for new worlds to conquer.

Maybe I can crank out a shorter read before bedtime!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 8:40 am

    Ohh, good to know you enjoyed it! I’ll have to check it out at some point.

Leave a Reply

