Skip to content

48 Hour Update: 4 books (17 hours) and a little Tolstoy

June 5, 2010

On the Clock: 17 hours (if I can count the Anna Karenina I’m listening to while I walk the dogs )

By the Page: 1169

I’m having a great day reading – it’s rainy and cool outside – perfect weather to stay curled up with a book. I don’t know if I can count the books on tape I listen to every morning when I walk the dogs every morning. I’m suffering through the classics I’ve never read because I fall asleep when I try – so for an hour each day, I’m currently graced with a strident narration of Leo Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina. I won’t be reviewing that, however. It will probably take me another month to get to the end.

So, for actual reading, I just finished The Amulet of Amon-Ra by Leslie Carmichael. It was a quick read that is sure to please lovers of anything ancient Egyptian. And it throws in a great deal of history to boot.

Summary: When Jennifer receives an ancient scarab with a hidden compartment, she travels through time and space to the era of the great female pharaoh, Hatsheput. She uncovers conspiracies and tomb robbers, but can she find her way home?

Genre: Science Fiction/Fantasy

Audience: MidGrade

Next – Hero by Mike Lupica

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 8:33 pm

    That sounds like a book I should have on my reading list–thanks!

  2. June 5, 2010 10:00 pm

    Impressive! And thanks for all the great reviews!

Leave a Reply

