Skip to content

48 Hour Update: The Finish Line

June 6, 2010

On the clock: 22 hours

  • 16.5 – book in hand
  • 2.5 – blog posting and visiting
  • 3 – books on tape

By the page: 1488

6 Total books finished: The Necropolis (PJ Hoover), Jungle Crossing (Sydney Salter), The Search for Wondla (Tony DiTerilizzi), The Amulet of Amon-Ra (Leslie Carmichael), Hero (Mike Lupica)

I’m leaving it up the to esteemed judges as to the validity of counting the multitasking of listening to Tolstoy while serving as the doggie butler.

Seriously, this was a great weekend for me. I often push my reading to the back shelf because I make other things a higher priority. But the challenge was enough to make me keep at it for the entire weekend (it was helpful to have 2/5 of the family out of town also).

Today I go back to reality, where I’m interrupted every few minutes by that wonderful thing called life, but I want to say “thanks” to Mother Reader for concocting this idea, and to the bloggers out there who have offered great encouragement. Those 16.5 dedicated hours of book in hand were true bliss.

And a secondary benefit has been the blogging – I am an occasional blogger, at best. But this weekend has shown me that I could become more consistent if I but make it a priority.

I’m already a winner! I hope to be back next year.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 10:42 am

    Go, Donna!

  2. June 6, 2010 4:44 pm

    Congratulations, Donna. You’re a reading inspiration. Maybe I’ll join next year and read, oh, I don’t know, two books. lol. Congratulations.

  3. June 6, 2010 6:51 pm

    Congrats on the challenge….I’m loving going by all the blogs and reading the book lists…I’m adding so many to my TBR pile.

  4. June 6, 2010 9:10 pm

    You’re welcome! Thanks for playing!

    (I listened to an audiobook while painting my teen’s nails, so it’s all good.)

  5. June 7, 2010 4:37 pm

    Congrats on your feat! You’re an even MANLIER MAN than I am! And I listened to an audiobook while walking for exercisin and vacuuming the house. (yes, REAL men do housework!)Thanks for checking in on me over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

