Skip to content

Hero by Mike Lupica – Review and Giveaway

September 9, 2011

Mike Lupica is a favorite author of the middle school set, especially boys. He’s gained a big following with a number of sports related books that always seemed to stay checked out in my library. Sports books aren’t my favorite but his baseball novel Heat impressed me a great deal.  It was so much more than a “sports” book.

His action fantasy Hero was released in November 2010 by Philomel Books. I am guilty of keeping the ARC I picked up for a looong time, but I’m tossing it up today because it is a quick, fun read that will please Lupica fans, in my humble opinion. I liked it anyway!

I’m cheating today with a blurb from Lupica’s website instead of my own:

“Fourteen-year-old Zach Harriman can feel the changes. The sharpening of his senses. The incredible strength. The speed, as though he can textmessage himself across miles. The confidence and the strange need to patrol Central Park at night. His dad had been a hero, a savior to America and a confidante of the president. Then he died, and the changes began in Zach. What Zach never knew was that his father was no ordinary man, he was a superhero, battling the world’s evil. This is a battle that has been waged for generations and that knows no boundaries.

And now it’s Zach’s turn to take on the fight. It’s Zach’s turn to become a hero.”

I’ll be giving my copy away to one lucky person. Leave a comment on this post by September 19th and you’ll be included in my random drawing. If this is your first comment to my blog, the comment will not post until I approve it.  Share the contest with anyone who might be interested.

Genres & Subjects:  Adventure Stories, Fantasy, Superheroes

Things to like about this book: It’s tightly written and the tension keeps flowing throughout. As an offering for reluctant readers I think it will be a big hit. I wouldn’t be surprised to see it become a series – and that is a good thing for those kids who love to read the next one.

Audience: Upper elementary through YA.  I’m liking this for boys asking for a new book.

Reviewed from:  ARC provided by publisher.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura Favaloro permalink
    September 9, 2011 7:50 am

    Spencer likes his books! I can’t wait to get if for him!:)

  2. Terri Legendre permalink
    September 9, 2011 11:09 am

    I find it an interesting departure for Lupica in this novel. I love the book, but am having a hard time selling his sports fans on this one!

    • Donna St. Cyr permalink*
      September 9, 2011 11:20 am

      sell it to the fantasy fans – I think the sports fans will follow.

  3. Shivaun Davis permalink
    September 11, 2011 3:31 pm

    I can’t wait to read this one. Heat was a great book.

Leave a Reply

