Skip to content

The Amulet of Amon-Ra by Leslie Carmichael: Review and Giveaway

October 14, 2011

Today, I’m giving away fellow CBAY author, Leslie Carmichael’s midgrade fantasy, The Amulet of Amon-Ra  (CBAY, 2009). I actually read this awhile ago and it makes a  quick and pleasant read for the third through seventh grade set.

Summary: When Jennifer receives an ancient scarab with a hidden compartment, she travels through time and space to the era of the great female pharaoh, Hatsheput. She uncovers conspiracies and tomb robbers, but can she find her way home?

Genres: Science Fiction/Fantasy

Things to like about this book:   Egyptophiles will like this story. It includes a great deal of history and it could be included in a unit on ancient Egypt.

Audience:  Upper elementary,  MidGrade

Reviewed from: Paperback  provided by publisher.

I’ll be giving my copy away to one lucky person. Leave a comment on this post by October 24th and you’ll be included in my random drawing. If this is your first comment to my blog, the comment will not post until I approve it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Terri Legendre permalink
    October 14, 2011 12:40 pm

    The book sounds very interesting. With all of the interest in Rick Riodan’s Kane’s Chronicles series, this book should be a big hit with middle grade readers. I would love to read it myself!

  2. Shivaun Davis permalink
    October 14, 2011 9:43 pm

    This sounds like an exciting story. I think my students would really enjoy it.

  3. October 15, 2011 6:04 am

    I’d love to read this one!

  4. Susan permalink
    October 24, 2011 5:42 pm

    Hi, I would love to read this book; books that teach history by telling a story are my favourites.

Leave a Reply

